Reader Meet Writer : Events

Shelli Johannes with CECE LOVES SCIENCE

at in store on 08/11/2018, 10:00 am
author photo book jacket
  Request this author
 
"Oxford", MS
 
"(662) 236-2262"
 
"http://www.squarebooks.com"
Shelli Johannes with CECE LOVES SCIENCE Cece loves science! This STEM-themed picture book, the first in a series, follows inquisitive Cece as she poses one of life’s most pressing questions—do dogs eat vegetables? With her best friend, Isaac, Cece uses science to uncover the answer. This entertaining and educational book is perfect for readers who love Andrea Beaty’s Ada Twist, Scientist and the companion volumes. Cece’s parents say she was born asking questions. Why? How? What if? So when her science teacher, Ms. Curie, assigns a project about zoology, Cece has the perfect question: Do dogs eat vegetables? Working from their treehouse lab, Cece and her best friend, Isaac, investigate, research, and collect and analyze data, using Cece’s adorable (and hungry!) dog, Einstein, as their case study. In their picture book debut, authors Kimberly Derting and Shelli R. Johannes and illustrator Vashti Harrison have created a diverse and charming cast of characters who love school and science. This engaging and educational STEM picture book is just right for readers of Andrea Beaty’s Rosie Revere, Engineer, and Kobi Yamada’s What Do You Do With an Idea? About the Author Shelli R. Johannes never warmed up to creepy crawly bugs, but she always loved zoology and biology. In fact, she can often be found on highways and country roads saving strays and other jaywalking critters, or volunteering with animal conservation groups like the Atlanta Zoo, the Dolphin Project, and animal rescue centers. Unfortunately she learned early on that chemistry (aka cooking) was not her favorite science, often resulting in odd reactions and minor explosions. She lives in Atlanta with her husband, two kids, one bird, one fish, and two crazy-haired Doodles who, just like Einstein, all who seem to love fruit and dessert, but loathe veggies. She can be found online at www.srjohannes.com. Saturday, August 11, 2018 - 10:00am Event address: Square Books, Jr. 111 Courthouse Square Oxford, MS 38655

"Why isn't my state listed?"

The STARS Directory is a project of the Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance. It's goal is to encourage readers to visit the southern booksellers that make up our membership.

OK

Logging in first time?

The STARS database detected that you have never allotted password for the username you are trying. Do you want to create a default password now so that you can login to our system? Your password will be sent by email on your registered email address.