Meet-and-Greet with McCall Hoyle and Katie Nelson

at in store on 02/10/2018, 06:00 pm
author photo book jacket
  Request this author
 
"Athens", GA
 
"352-2060"
 
"http://www.avidbookshop.com"
Meet-and-Greet with McCall Hoyle and Katie Nelson Saturday, February 10, 2018 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm Event address: 493 Prince Ave Athens, GA 30601 Avid Bookshop presents authors McCall Hoyle and Katie Nelson for a meet-and-greet event. This event will take place at our Prince Ave. location on Saturday, February 10, and will run from 6 to 7pm. We encourage you to purchase a copy of the titles, and come in to get them signed! ABOUT THE BOOKS: The Thing with Feathers by McCall Hoyle Emilie Day believes in playing it safe: she’s homeschooled, her best friend is her seizure dog, and she’s probably the only girl on the Outer Banks of North Carolina who can’t swim. Then Emilie’s mom enrolls her in public school, and Emilie goes from studying at home in her pj’s to halls full of strangers. To make matters worse, Emilie is paired with starting point guard Chatham York for a major research project on Emily Dickinson. She should be ecstatic when Chatham shows interest, but she has a problem. She hasn’t told anyone about her epilepsy. Emilie lives in fear her recently adjusted meds will fail and she’ll seize at school. Eventually, the worst happens, and she must decide whether to withdraw to safety or follow a dead poet’s advice and “dwell in possibility.” The Duke of Bannerman Prep by Katie Nelson Tanner McKay is at Bannerman Prep for only one reason: the elite school recruited him after he brought his public school’s debate team to victory last year. Bannerman wants a championship win. Debate is Tanner’s life—his ticket out of his poor-as-dirt life and family drama, straight to a scholarship to Stanford and the start of a new, better future. But when he's paired with the Duke, his plans for an easy ride seem as if they’ve hit the rails. The Duke is the quintessential playboy, beloved by everyone for his laissez-faire attitude, crazy parties, and seemingly effortless favors. And a total no-show when it comes to putting in the work to win. But as Tanner gets sucked into the Duke’s flashy world, the thrill of the high life and the adrenaline of existing on the edge becomes addictive. A small favor here and there seems like nothing in exchange for getting everything he ever dreamed of. But the Duke’s castle is built on shady, shaky secrets, and the walls are about to topple down. A contemporary retelling of The Great Gatsby, Katie Nelson’s taut debut is perfect for fans of John Green’s Looking for Alaska, Kate Brian’s Private series, and anyone who’s encountered the cut-throat world of competitive high school. ABOUT THE AUTHORS: McCall Hoyle reads and writes all things YA. Her novels have won several awards including the 2014 Romance Writers of America Golden Heart® Award. Her debut novel, The Thing with Feathers, debuted with Blink/HarperCollins September 5, 2017. Katie Nelson has always loved words and stories. Formerly a high school English and Debate teacher, she now lives in Northern California with her husband, four children, and hyperactive dog.

"Why isn't my state listed?"

The STARS Directory is a project of the Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance. It's goal is to encourage readers to visit the southern booksellers that make up our membership.

OK

Logging in first time?

The STARS database detected that you have never allotted password for the username you are trying. Do you want to create a default password now so that you can login to our system? Your password will be sent by email on your registered email address.