Special Book Club - Cooking for Picasso

at in store on 11/01/2017, 06:00 pm
 
"Punta Gorda", FL
 
"205-2560"
 
"http://www.copperfishbooks.com/"
Special Book Club - Cooking for Picasso Wednesday November 1, 2017 All are invited to join us for a special book club as part of the Punta Gorda Visual Arts Center's 2017 Fine Arts Festival. The Festival's theme is "Inspired by Picasso," and we'll be reading Cooking for Picasso by Camille Aubray. You do not need to be a member of the VAC to participate. Book Selection: Cooking for Picasso by Camille Aubray Synopsis: For readers of Paula McLain, Nancy Horan, and Melanie Benjamin, this captivating novel is inspired by a little-known interlude in the artist’s life. The French Riviera, spring 1936: It’s off-season in the lovely seaside village of Juan-les-Pins, where seventeen-year-old Ondine cooks with her mother in the kitchen of their family-owned Café Paradis. A mysterious new patron who’s slipped out of Paris and is traveling under a different name has made an unusual request—to have his lunch served to him at the nearby villa he’s secretly rented, where he wishes to remain incognito. Pablo Picasso is at a momentous crossroads in his personal and professional life—and for him, art and women are always entwined. The spirited Ondine, chafing under her family’s authority and nursing a broken heart, is just beginning to discover her own talents and appetites. Her encounter with Picasso will continue to affect her life for many decades onward, as the great artist and the talented young chef each pursue their own passions and destiny.

"Why isn't my state listed?"

The STARS Directory is a project of the Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance. It's goal is to encourage readers to visit the southern booksellers that make up our membership.

OK

Logging in first time?

The STARS database detected that you have never allotted password for the username you are trying. Do you want to create a default password now so that you can login to our system? Your password will be sent by email on your registered email address.