Jenny Milchman reads from her thriller Cover of Snow

02/07/2013, 07:00 pm
 
Chapel Hill, NC
 
(919) 942-7373
 
http://www.flyleafbooks.com
About Event
Jenny Milchman reads from her thriller Cover of Snow Start: 7:00 pm Thu 2/7 7pm-8pm Jenny Milchman reads from her thriller Cover of Snow Ballantine Books (Random House) $26.00 9780345534217 *Starred Review* This superlative dark, wintry debut is set in a small town in upstate New York. Nora Hamilton oversleeps one morning to find that her husband, Brendan, has hung himself. Nora is bereft, and she struggles to reconcile Brendan's suicide with their seemingly happy life together and with his job as a cop in his hometown. Her mother-in-law, a cold, forbidding woman, blames Nora, who tries talking to his partner, a cop who was also Brendan's best friend, but he advises her to move on with her life. Nora can't move on, not without some answers, and as she starts digging, she uncovers secrets about her husband and the town, the kind of secrets that people will do anything, including murder, to cover up. The ravages of winter impede her progress, but she plows on, determined to learn why Brendan never confided in her, but the answers prove more shocking than anything she might have imagined. These well-defined characters take us on an emotional roller-coaster ride through the darkest night, with blinding twists and occasionally fatal turns. This is a richly woven story that not only looks at the devastating effects of suicide but also examines life in a small town and explores the complexity of marriage. Fans of Nancy Pickard, Margaret Maron, and C. J. Box will be delighted to find this new author. –Booklist 12/01/12 Jenny Milchman lives in New Jersey with her family. Cover of Snow is her first novel.
blog comments powered by Disqus